howells & hillsong live

Hillsong Live Tour rolled into Memphis Monday. Kris & I got to spend the day in Memphis being available for them. I was thrilled when a friend asked if we wanted to be  a runner for the band and take care of anything they may need. That was an easy YES! This was my first Hillsong experience and I am in love. My day started with waiting for the laundry to come off of the tour buses, then got to work on washing, drying, and folding 5 loads. We pretty much worked out of the production room where the office was for the day until we got our next request. Starbucks run for 20 came next! They had a chiropractor, massage therapist, and personal trainer also waiting to serve them. We got to eat with the band and saw them in passing but weren’t suppose to be crazy fans or tourist….so it was pretty chill so they could relax and be at home. I spent the afternoon with Miz, the wife of one of the vocals. She was beautiful of course with her Aussie accent, expecting her first baby, and just happy to be on tour in the states for the first time in her life. We set up the guest lounge with the Hillsong trendy touch for after the concert. Loved serving, watching, and helping in tiny ways that did huge things for my heart. The humility and unity of this group was refreshing. They work hard on tour. I saw the daily schedule and it was not a lazy day. Meetings, workshops, team time, meal time, sound checks, media interviews, worship Pastor training, and time slots filled with structure, prayer, and  preparing to lead thousands in authentic praise. I was overwhelmed in sound check alone and the concert filled my soul with hope for what the Lord has for me in the coming year. I felt restored from fear and control. The Lord showed me areas where I needed to surrender, confess, and release. As the words to a song that we sang,

“I will sing praise, no weapon formed against me shall remain. I will rejoice, I will declare, God is my victory and He is here. All of my life in every season you are still God, I have a reason to sing…..I have a reason to worship.”

Leave a Reply

