{AWAKE} when we fail at resolutions

I’ve was teased in Elementary School
for my thick, heavy glasses.
The kind that made you sick to look at.
The kind where the style looked like
they were upside down.

In High School my A.P. U.S History teacher
said my eyes were so huge…
I had the eyes of a Halibut (google that).

In college we worked at a factory
and an employee friend said,
“Girl, those glasses are so thick…
don’t you dare look at the sun and burn us all up!”
Of course hysterical laughter erupted from
everyone but me.

Blind and big they may be
but this year I am putting them to good use.

I’ve never been good at resolutions.
New Years Eve is the day for drawing up plans.

Lists of goals are written.
Some attainable, others only a dream.
If you have good intentions 
but bad follow through…
chances are your list 
looks the same every year.

This year as I’ve heard many words
that need to be in my life…
I am picking ONE.
ONE WORD that will guide me
in the way I spend my moments
this year.

A word that is not schedule at the gym
or a number on the scale
or even a set time of day to be still.

All those goals being important
to our health and availability to others
can also set us up for failure
because…
we struggle at perfection.


With that perfection struggle comes 
a heavy wave of guilt that
gets us absolutely nowhere.

Its impossible not to give in just once
to that chocolate, to skipping the workout,
to putting off relationships.

My word for the year is
AWAKE.

It covers all the hopes I have
for the next 12 months
and it is not a goal, rather a way
of living.

 God is asking
me to wake up to
 His purpose in my life.
His written word to me,
and
His joy that reaches the people
in my circle of influence.

Awake and be ready for Jesus.
“Stay awake – for you do not know
 when the master of the house will come..”
Mark 13:35

Awake to hear God’s truth reveled.
“I rise before dawn and cry for help; 
I hope in your words.
My eyes are awake before
 the watches of the night, 
that I may meditate on your promise.”
Psalm 119:147

Awake to others around me.
“For anything that becomes visible is light. 
Therefore it says, 
“Awake, O sleeper and
 arise from the dead, and Christ
will shine on you.”
Ephesians 5:14

Lists of goals aside, what ONE WORD 
would you chose this year that
covers everything you hope to accomplish?

 

Leave a Reply

