Staying Hopeful when Life is Hurtful

IMG_1584

I’ve never been a fan of hurting. I understand the process. I agree with the refinement that hurt brings. and I  believe God is always working out His will.

The part that gets tricky is that human beings play a starring role in bringing hurt to life’s situations.

There have been times in my own life where something happened that didn’t feel like it was Gods plan because it was humanly messed up in the delivery!

Later of course I clearly understood that His plan is accomplished sometimes through broken systems and broken people. Not my favorite – but it happens all the time.

There are life challenges all around us lately. Families hurting, broken, and desperate for hope.

Friends feeling discouraged and  beat up from wading through high waters are trying to hold on.

Isn’t that messy? God uses the hurt of you and me to bring about change.

Sometimes for the better, but not easily seen at first.

“Let me hear Your loving kindness in the morning; For I trust in You; Teach me the way in which I should walk; For to You I lift up my soul. Deliver me, O Lord, from my enemies; I take refuge in You. Teach me to do Your will, For You are my God; Let your good Spirit lead me on level ground. For the sake of Your name, O Lord, revive me. Psalms 143:8-11

Confusion can settle in when we feel like something just isn’t right and correction needs to take place to be understood or to feel valued. That hurts.

We feel wronged, but maybe that had to happen to cause us to see something we would have never considered before. That hurts too.

In the midst of deep pain trying to find hope feels paralyzing. Where’s the good?

“He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.” – Colossians 1:17

 

There are a billion ways we can pray in these moments. Emotions run wild with every kind of thought.

We can choose to sift through the ungodly thoughts and allow clarity and purity of heart to rise to the surface.image1

But Jen… I’m a mess. We’re a mess.

It can be hard to know what to pray when trying to decipher the good from the bad.

These are a few things that we can’t go wrong asking.

Lord, would you help…

clarity to emerge,

trust to abound,

healing to come,

hearts to feel valued,

humility to override pride,

maturity to advance,

and

purpose to prevail.

Despite the not so pleasant way things are handled sometimes, God still works through messed up souls like each of us. Whatever is crazy in your world today, I pray that hope can rise and hurt will not keep you down.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

