The Refreshed Mom {For the Days We Lock Ourselves In the Bathroom}

DSC_0226

Wouldn’t it be fun to find out how many of you were actually reading this post from behind your bathroom door?!

You may not be a mom, but you def know one who could use a little refresh today.

I am a huge fan of the bathroom escape plan!

No one questions your where abouts and you can clock out for a good length of time if you’re lucky.

Listen to a voicemail, return a text, drink a cup of coffee, cry, or maybe have a good laugh. I have most certainly accomplished all of these tasks while “going to the bathroom”. I was telling the truth… I needed to be in there!

Sometimes little fingers, toes, cars, trains, notes, or food may get passed to you while hiding out but if you remain silent… they might move on.

Oh how we get desperate for deep breaths and alone.

No questions.

No needs.

Nobody.

This mom calling is not for the weak or the wimpy. We have to be on our “A ” game or at least close to awesome year round. We are  practically like an Olympian or a high-profile Celebrity.

Think about it. Everyone wants to be with you, all the time.

You can barely catch a break from all the training and events.

You have no outside life to speak of, for now because… well – you have no time for anything else and even though you love what you are doing, there are days when you would like to pretend you have zero responsibilities.

Sometimes you don’t answer the phone to talk to a friend because you’ve had enough of people talking to you and although you love talking and people… you just cant handle (If you are reading this and you are a phone calling friend, I’m sorry – but I am so guilty of this)!

Other days you may question what happened to the “before kids” you?

She is still there but she has stepped into a new role. One that uses many of her before kids giftings in different ways but with the same passion. Over time and in the right season some of the “before” you will surface for a time.

DSC_0230

Feeling refreshed  means many different things for Moms.

Be it a day off with friends,

running to the gym (bless you gym gals… one day I’ll see you there maybe),

getting still and unplugged,

shopping and coffee,

a long drive,

or the most realistic option… behind the bathroom door.

Our souls need to fill up with not only breaks from time to time, but with the truth about who we are and what we are called too.

For this  mothering season it means I am called to mother my kids and God has given me everything I need to bring honor to Him while doing so. But it can’t happen unless I  run to Him and catch my breath.

“The Lord is my Shepherd, I lack nothing. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul.

He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with precious oil; my cup overflows.

Surely your goodness and love will follow me all th days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”

Psalm 23

Sure and steady always is God’s word. The deepest well we can draw from is Jesus. He has a way of  putting what is in front of us into focus and adds fresh perspective to the hard, unending work that we get to do every, single, day.

It definitely does not have the glitz and glam of the Olympian or the Celebrity…but the legacy you are building and the lives that are entrusted to you will matter in the end.

So refresh for a few and ask Him to help you see the little people at your feet or the big kids taller than you as your most important task of the day.

Nothing compares to raising the next generation and giving it your all.

Leave a Reply

