Day 1 Running Water {That Time We Put Up “No Water” Signs In Our Home”

image

A few years ago, I wanted to teach my young boys about famine and basic needs.

In an attempt to give them a little age appropriate perspective, we rationed out food for an entire day in brown bags. A few crackers, 1 slice of bread, 2 apple slices, 2 tablespoons of peanuts, and 1/4 of a bottle of water was what they had available.

They had to eat carefully, knowing that the small stash had to last from morning until after dinner. The older two-handled it well but the youngest not so much. He was in tears after lunch because he was “starving”.

We had some great talks that day but surprisingly it wasn’t the food that was most difficult in our comfy, warm, stocked home…it was the missing water.

I took masking tape and made signs to tape over every water faucet in and outside our home that read “Sorry – NO WATER”.

I lost count of the amount of times I went to the sink to rinse dishes, or wash my hands, give a bath, take a shower, cook, or grab a drink of water.

image

That day, chugging water to wash down plates of food was not an option and it was tough for 3 little  boys who were running and playing all day long.

Today, I am thankful for an abundance of clean, running water for my family, for my neighborhood, my city, my country… but I don’t want to forget what it was like to be in a country without.

image

Such a basic blessing that I treat as an expectation.

Thank you God for water.

~Jenny

*Do try this at home, in your dorm, or at work for a day. Masking tape and signs are all you need to find some appreciation and raise awareness for a basic need that we barely notice.

One thought on “Day 1 Running Water {That Time We Put Up “No Water” Signs In Our Home”

  1. Such a great idea! Allowing ourselves to experience scarcity of something we take for granted can be a sure way to step back and reorient our minds and hearts to gratitude. Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

