When He Calls Us Out Of Comfy | A Risky Prayer

image

I had gone through the day just waiting to get cozy in my favorite sweatpants. At lunchtime, I put my best mom foot forward and sliced up apples, cubed some cheese, and rinsed out sippy cups. One step closer – I promised myself.

I continued going through the same motions reminding myself that the couch and favorite quilt and headphones to drown out the home noise.. were very near.

Surely I could manage the afternoon of homeschool assignment chatting with older boys.

I could handle the looking over little sisters story writing and math lessons, and thinking through what on earth was for dinner…because it would all lead up to my own time to get comfortable.

The baby bath happened after said dinner was eaten up and cleaned up. The family took their places in the living room and settled in for the evening and there I was standing at the door of comfort and peace and glory Hallelujah!

I am a lover of comfort. I need time to think without unknowns cramping my style.

Some of us…uhem…most of us would not choose chaos over routine. We would not willingly step into the miserable when comfort is available.

Is anyone out there just a massive lover of unknowns and taking risks? Please rise to your feet and take the hand of those of us unsure and skeptical!

You (we) know who you are. You’ve been sitting on the couch of _____ risk. Safe and predictable with the cozy quilt covering, you see the opportunity to leave the familiar and take a risk  but…

Its better to be safe they say.

Besides, the rhythms are comfortable and who doesn’t love being comfy?

Most of us wouldn’t choose the risky, scary, unsure, and possible dangerous steps because it feels out of control. 

Well, it is.

There is nothing calming about taking risks.

Risks in relationships like speaking up or discontinue speaking.

Risks in personal growth like refusing to compare or allowing self-care.

Risks in ministry like reaching out or showing a way out.

Risks in parenting like sharing past mistakes or drawing lines in the sand.

Risks in faith like choosing to trust and not panic or to dive into scripture like never before.

But sometimes…Jesus calls us out of our quilts and coffee moments. He motions for us to take a risk and leave the shoreline for something much harder and full of unknowns.

There is growth that takes place when we trust Him enough to say yes to the off – the -couch moments.

Lets pray this Psalm of trust together as we consider the Spirit calling us out of comfort and int0 the unpredictable.

“Let me hear Your loving kindness in the morning;

For I trust in You; Teach me the way in which I should walk;

For to You I lift up my soul. Deliver me, O Lord, from my enemies;

I take refuge in You. Teach me to do Your will, For You are my God;

Let Your good Spirit lead me on level ground.

For the sake of Your name, O Lord, revive me.”

Psalms 143 | 8-11

 

I totally am with the quilt and coffee crowd. I love my couch and heating pad – but I am in a season of being literally “called out” into the risky zone in so many areas.

Lets ask Him where we are living a bit to cozy and need to exercise some Jesus risk for the sake of His will!

Be strong friends – but only in His mighty power.

Amen

~Jen

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “When He Calls Us Out Of Comfy | A Risky Prayer

  1. Those moments are just so painful and so bothersome. But then again, no one grow if they stay in their comfort zones. You can’t get anything productive done if you stay under that cozy quilt. Great points, Jen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

