When Your Struggle Is Serving Someone Else

img_7401

Stories of the faithful wandering in the desert, along with their conversations of “Now what God?” have been traveling with me these past few months.

Thank God for His good company!

Some days I feel like I am living out some Old Testament chapter (I mean…no where close but I’ve felt glimpses.)

Those families trusted the unseen, believed in what was to come, and even in moments of weakness – they consistently rose to the promise of deliverance.

If I take anything from this adventure, I hope that my admiration for those walking in the wilderness has me forever changed.

I also hope that our story has offered hope and inspired others to trust from a deeper well. We can’t help but believe good is ahead with the faithful track record He has left for us.

” I will take you as my own people, and I will be your God. Then you will know that I am the Lord your God, who brought you out from under the yoke of the Egyptians. And I will bring you to the land I swore with uplifted hand to give to Abraham, to Isaac and to Jacob. I will give it to you as a possession. I am the Lord.” Exodus 6:6-8

For I am the Lord. Why do we even need more than that?

I am so thankful that there are stories of others before me. There is something calming about knowing someone else has made it to the other side right?

How completely exhausting for them!

All the relocating.

Every hardship endured.

The sickness.

The cheers of defeat.

Fearing the enemy.

I’m guessing there may have been some “enough already God we get it” words spoken.There is power in traveling a rough road because chances are, you are never alone.

The journey that God allows for us… isn’t just for us. Just like the Israelites journey wasn’t just for them.

What a bunch of hard-core, believing people. By their example, I can walk out my own journey to God’s best and so can you.

Sometimes our hard times can be for the benefit of others and not even on purpose… but for a purpose. 

“But I have raised you up for this very purpose, that I might show you my power and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.” Exodus 9:16

Hands down, one of the greatest encouragements to me as we wait for our next job assignment and home has been those whose faith is stronger because of our story.

We never intended for our stepping out to be “for” others, but God is using our faith to add to the journey of many.

The texts and messages continue to roll in from others who are in some kind of waiting and have gained courage through our family in this crazy time.

I love that God is speaking to me through them.

I promise you, I never once thought during our decision process to leave our church and home that we loved…”We should do this because others need to see that God is faithful.”

I mean, I was hopeful that we could shine a light on His faithfulness, but honestly in the moment I was more concerned with our survival.

The road you are on is not pointless friends…

Chances are that you are paving the way for someone else.

For fear to be conquered.

To deepen your own trust well.

To  continually be reminded that you are never, ever alone in your search for whats next.

Looking back we see God’s faithful love as He leads us to the exact places that will shape our souls to trust Him with less fear and more abandon.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “When Your Struggle Is Serving Someone Else

  1. Amen!! He certainly has used your story in my life and it is so true that we never know how He is going to use us!!! I am so grateful that He brought y’all into my life! I will never eat potato soup without thinking of all of you!!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

