15823215_10211896393315080_2821109351991475685_n

We headed out for a quick-lunch break hike through the pines and on the frozen trails. A fast friendship with a staff gal that I have gotten to know during our time here, just fell into place perfectly.

She encouraged me as I mothered in the holding pattern of transition and I got to be a sounding board for her mom heart.

I needed her perspective and she needed mine. A two-way street that we could both invest in and grow from.

Beautiful and unexpected.

 Friendships are hard work and go through many seasons of good and exhausting, and sometimes we are far too tired to keep the pace.

We’ve all been there right?

The pouring out of our souls, only to be left broken and betrayed.

The deep commitment for years, only to be uprooted and transplanted to a new sea of faces.

The joys and laughter and memories that have marked us forever.

Our three months of camp living in a motor home has developed a whole new family of relationships and I’m thankful.

I am in this new place of desperately missing my friendships in Tennessee and praying about new relationships here in Washington. Maybe you’ve been here friends. I am living the tension of in-between and I’m doing my best to embrace it.

This is not the first time that God has uprooted my heart and moved me to a new land with fresh faces, but that doesn’t make it any easier right?

I am a lover of people and my heart naturally wants to reach out and relate. To agree with the hard stuff and encourage gals to keep marching onward, but it takes work.

So often we want the benefits of a dear kindred soul, but we are too worn out to put in the combined effort.

Other times, we have tried for SO long and SO hard but the friend we are desperately seeking is nowhere to be found.

All of it…the ups and downs, the beginnings and endings, and the bravery of starting over is an amazing gift we call connecting.

If you are at all like me, you appreciate honest words and the understanding of others who desire the healthy and strong kind of friendships.

A couple of months ago, I was invited to be an ambassador for a new and timely resource written with honesty and love for you and I, by the contributors over at (in)courage

The challenging stories of real life have walked with me these past few weeks and I’m so grateful – that I want to you guys to dive in and read along with me.

You will be welcomed and invited and finding yourself saying,”I get that” over and over.

“We all long for meaningful relationships, the Colossians 3:14 kind that fulfill our desire for unity and connection with God, our friends, and our community. But where do we start? Craving Connection is a journey where (in)courage writers share real-life stories, practical Scripture application, and connection challenges…”

– Craving Connection: 30 Challenges for Real Life Engagement

15826883_10211896393275079_4710725387056484114_n

So if you find yourself craving connection and looking for meaningful friendships you will love reading the real life stories from other women and engaging in truth along the way.

Grab your cozy sweater, your coffee and tea, and find the words speaking hope and encouragement to you – just as timely as they have for me! (You can order your copy through the (in)courage site here!)

My little hike today affirmed just how powerful connecting with God and connecting with others really is. 

Here’s to a new season of fresh opportunity to embrace the lives God will place in my path, and yours too.

GIVE AWAY TIME! 

At the end of each chapter you will find super helpful questions to help you process and engage.

Answer the question below in the comments to be entered into a drawing to win both of these fun items from (in)courage and Dayspring! 

Q: How is God asking you to show up for someone today? (From the chapter by Lisa-Jo Baker)

58725   85404

4 thoughts on “When We Crave Connection + Give Away!

  1. Love days like these. The ones where we actually DO what He is calling us too…and see the immediate reward of time and investment. So great. You are raising a whole team of girls to release into the world…go hard sister. Love ya’ll!

    Like

  2. I have felt called to stop and look my husband in the eyes and listen to what he is saying to me. My house is so chaotic now. God showed me yesterday that I have not really stopped to look at and listen to Alan for quite some time. That stops now. Love you and your heart as always Jen!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It happens to the best of us Megan! The mothering trench is deep and wide isn’t it? Love how you strive to meet the needs of your people but not on your own strength. Love you and miss you much. XOX

      Like

  3. Oh Jen!!!!! Today God asked me to show up for my 4 girls. The Holy Spirit prompted me this morning to ask each of them how I could specifically pray for them today. So, I did that. My sweet Addie even told me when I picked her up from school, “Momma, I felt you praying for me today!”. And tonight why making dinner, 2 of my 4 (Sammie and CH) asked me how they could help me. Even though I knew it would be easier and much faster if I just did it all myself, I put them to work peeling, chopping, and stirring! And you know what?!? We talked while they were in the kitchen with me. We talked about silly high school homecoming stuff and an upcoming field trip to Memphis.
    Just by my obedience in listening to God tell me to be present with my girls I was blessed by going deeper in my relationships with them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

