The Post Adventure Exhale

image1-7

I woke up yesterday morning before sunrise with the toddler crying for Momma. Week two of teaching him the joys of sleeping in ones own bed has not been as awful as I anticipated it to be.

I couldn’t for the life of me remember how to transition babies from cribs to beds, or from mom’s bed to own bed, and I didn’t even read a book or google or blog search.

I just started sleeping in his bed because I am forty-one and that’s that. The End.ย It’s true that the fifth baby breaks all former family rules!

I crawled into his little wooden bed in the shape of a boat and took in his bedroom full of toys and the feeling of home it brought.

I was kept awake with the view of gigantic evergreen trees standing outside his window.

Do I really live here?

Did God honestly just call us out and position our family to do His work in such a beautiful location full of caring people?

After all that fussing, and broken-hearted cries for provision…He has delivered the hope we set out for, and with so much more than we could have mapped out.ย 

I know that this is not always the case. Sometimes in our faith journey, we don’t get to enjoy and see with our eyes the good in the hard times. I’ve been there too.

Some of you may be trusting and waiting without a clear answer. PRESS ON. Your waiting is for great purpose.

Day by day, my tired but happy soul is gaining strength from the road trip to here!

The farther I get away from the months of living on the edge of answers, the more I shake my head both in tears and laughter.

The highest of highs, the depth of low, and every trail in between has made up the script of our story.

I feel like I have completed an epic workout goal like marathon training…except I have not worked out in a year and I will not ever run a race that long. Mercy.

We did sleep like sardines, cook in a cute cubical kitchen, did school work with hearts missing home, and we lived in cramped quarters during a time when most families want space to hide out.

Tiny living is for tiny families – that’s my commercial for this trending movement, but God had a plan to join our family together in new ways using small spaces and unknown places.

Deep exhales are being released often around here.

Thanks is rising all around because God was faithful from beginning to end. The prayers I prayed were only answered on the watch of almighty God. Prayers like…

“Please Jesus keep all five of my kids, my husband and I, healthy and without sickness that requires medical insurance while we are without a job. Amen.”

He held us together in more ways than one and health was just a sliver of answered prayer.

Trusting in complete blindness tested my belief in the unseen world.

I am here to tell you that the spiritual realm is real, it is a place that we don’t give recognition too when life is on pace and we feel “good”.

“The Lord your God who goes before you will Himself fight on your behalf, just as He did for you in Egypt before your eyes, and in the wilderness where you saw how the Lord your God carried you, just as a man carries his son, in all the ways which you have walked until you came to this place.” Deuteronomy 1:30-31

Active battle is taking place this very moment for you and I and ours…because we belong to the Prince of Peace and He has a real enemy.

Evil wants to destroy our joy,

heighten our anxiety levels,

ignite fear,

infuse lies,

and shut down the testimony of Jesus Christ winning in our lives.

As I sit here in our new home, watching a ย river run in my back yard …I can testify that Jesus has done a mighty thing in our hearts and it was only by His Holy Spirit that we are here.

We are imperfect in our faith, weak in our joy at times, but believing stronger than ever that He is Lord over all things and nothing gets to us unless He allows it.

Your plans, dreams, hurts, wins and defeats, inhales and exhales all belong to Him friends.

Leave a Reply

